logo_iis75

I used to deploy application to IIS6, the deployment steps as easy as 1 2 3.
1.5 months ago when i first time looked at IIS 7.5 I was totally stunned – As a .net developer i was running out out idea how to deploy my web app?!?! I was able to figure out the basic setting of IIS 7.5, everything looks good until this week i received a job to setup a development environment and i getting this “Error message 401.3: You do not have permission to view this directory or page using the credentials you supplied (access denied due to Access Control Lists)”  T_T

I google a lot to understand and tried some solutions still didnt work for me, until i found Kev Post – SAVE MY LIFE.
After i grant the [machine]/users access to the deployment folder, everything works perfectly!

Interesting key points:

  • The ApplicationPoolIdentity is assigned membership of the Users group as well as the IIS_IUSRS group
  • That’s the reason your site’s ApplicationPoolIdentity can read and write to that folder. That right is being inherited from the c:\ drive.
